Home Internet News ‘Trial of the Chicago 7’ wins top ensemble

‘Trial of the Chicago 7’ wins top ensemble


The late Chadwick Boseman looks like even more of an Oscar lock, and “The Trial of the Chicago 7” won the biggest prize during a historic night for film actors of color at Sunday’s Screen Actors Guild Awards.

Aaron Sorkin’s courtroom drama “Chicago 7” won best ensemble cast in a motion picture. At the same time, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” co-stars Boseman and Viola Davis snagged best lead actor honors at the SAG Awards. For the first time, actors of color swept all four individual film categories.

Boseman’s widow, Simone Ledward Boseman, quoted her husband when accepting his award: “If you see the world unbalanced, be a crusader that pushes heavily on the seesaw of the mind.”

Road to Oscars:‘Trial of the Chicago 7,’ ‘Da 5 Bloods,’ ‘Minari,’ ‘Ma Rainey lead SAG Awards nominations

In addition, Daniel Kaluuya won the best supporting actor for “Judas and the Black Messiah,” and Yuh-Jung Youn earned supporting actress for “Minari,” becoming the first Asian winner of an individual SAG acting award for a movie.

“This one’s for Chadwick Boseman, and this one’s for Fred Hampton,” Kaluuya said in his acceptance speech honoring the “Da 5 Bloods” actor he was competing against, as well as Kaluuya’s role as Hampton, the real-life Illinois Black Panther chairman he portrays in “Black Messiah.”

The SAG Awards are often seen as an indicator of winning at the Academy Awards since actors comprise the largest Oscar voting bloc. Last year’s best picture winner, “Parasite,” won an outstanding cast, while all four individual SAG winners in 2020 – Joaquin Phoenix, Renée Zellweger, Brad Pitt, and Laura Dern – won Oscars.

Chicago 7

In TV categories, “Schitt’s Creek” won best comedy ensemble. Star Catherine O’Hara took the best comedy actress, “The Crown” ruled the best drama cast-contingent, Jason Bateman (“Ozark”) and Gillian Anderson (“The Crown”) got best drama actor trophies, and Jason Sudeikis (“Ted Lasso”) earned best comedy actor. Check out all the SAG winners (in bold) from Sunday’s live-streamed pre-show and televised special.


Ensemble cast

“Da 5 Bloods”

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”


“One Night in Miami”

WINNER: “The Trial of the Chicago 7”


Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal”

WINNER: Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

Anthony Hopkins, “The Father”

Gary Oldman, “Mank”

Steven Yeun, “Minari”


Amy Adams, “Hillbilly Elegy”

WINNER: Viola Davis, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

Vanessa Kirby, “Pieces of a Woman”

Frances McDormand, “Nomadland”

Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman”

Supporting actor

Sacha Baron Cohen, “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Chadwick Boseman, “Da 5 Bloods”

WINNER: Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Jared Leto, “The Little Things”

Leslie Odom Jr., “One Night in Miami”

Supporting female actor

Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”

Glenn Close, “Hillbilly Elegy”

Olivia Colman, “The Father”

WINNER: Yuh-jung Youn, “Minari”

Helena Zengel, “News of the World”

Stunt ensemble

“Da 5 Bloods”


“News of the World”

“The Trial of the Chicago 7”

WINNER: “Wonder Woman 1984”


Ensemble in a drama series

“Better Call Saul”


WINNER: “The Crown”

“Lovecraft Country”


Ensemble in a comedy series

“Dead to Me”

“The Flight Attendant”

“The Great”

WINNER: “Schitt’s Creek”

“Ted Lasso”

Actor in a drama series

WINNER: Jason Bateman, “Ozark”

Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us”

Josh O’Connor, “The Crown”

Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul”

Regé-Jean Page, “Bridgerton”

Actress in a drama series

WINNER: Gillian Anderson, “The Crown”

Olivia Colman, “The Crown”

Emma Corrin, “The Crown”

Julia Garner, “Ozark”

Laura Linney, “Ozark”

Actor in a comedy series

Nicholas Hoult, “The Great”

Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”

Eugene Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”

WINNER: Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

Ramy Youssef, “Ramy”

Actress in a comedy series

Christina Applegate, “Dead to Me”

Linda Cardellini, “Dead to Me”

Kaley Cuoco, “The Flight Attendant”

Annie Murphy, “Schitt’s Creek”

WINNER: Catherine O’Hara, “Schitt’s Creek”

Actor in a TV movie or miniseries

Bill Camp, “The Queen’s Gambit”

Daveed Diggs, “Hamilton”

Hugh Grant, “The Undoing”

Ethan Hawke, “The Good Lord Bird”

WINNER: Mark Ruffalo, “I Know This Much Is True”

Actress in a TV movie or miniseries

Cate Blanchett, “Mrs. America”

Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy You”

Nicole Kidman, “The Undoing”

WINNER: Anya Taylor-Joy, “The Queen’s Gambit”

Kerry Washington, “Little Fires Everywhere”

Stunt ensemble

“The Boys”

“Cobra Kai”

“Lovecraft Country”

WINNER: “The Mandalorian”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here